Tom Redman (2017)

Data Provocateur’s Boot Camp with Tom Redman

When: 2017-09-05 Tuesday

Time: 12:00 - 13:30

Timezone: US EDT

Bootcamp banner image

Boot camp with Tom Redman. Tuesday 5 September 2017

Register now!

ABSTRACT:

Tom Redman Writes:

Most companies and government agencies address data quality reactively, after errors are made and, as a direct result, suffer from bad data.  To date, it has taken a special person, to challenge the status quo within his or her work team, address data quality by “getting in front” of the issues, making a huge improvement, and, in effect, showing the rest of the company what is possible.  I call this person the “data provocateur.” 

I’ve recently introduced the term publicly (see for example, “Data Quality Should be Everyone’s Responsibility” in HBR) and many people have asked “how can I become a data provocateur?”  This Data Provocateur’s boot camp provides the answer.  It aims:

  • To provide you the skinniest possible set of material needed to become an effective data provocateur and
  • To empower and embolden you to move forward.

This webinar aims to provide a fast, powerful first step, which involves answering the question, “Do I/we have a data quality problem?”

Register now — bring a co-worker (plus one discount)

OUTLINE:

A.  What is a “data provocateur?”

  • Why data quality problems arise? (Answer: The rising middle manager)
  • The hidden data factory
  • Anyone can be a provocateur
  • The provocateur’s “persona” (you’ll be surprised)
  • Provocateur defined, with special emphasis on soft skills.
  • Discussion:  Can you fill the role?

B.  Step One:  Answer “Do I (we) have a data quality problem?”

  • The Friday Afternoon Measurement 
    • Protocol
    • Example
    • Homework
  • The Rule of Ten to calculate one aspect of the COPDQ (cost of poor data quality)
  • Other impacts of bad data.
  • Answering the question.

C. Discussion: Can you do this work?


Presented by

Tom Redman — the Data Doc

When

Delivered by live webinar on: Tuesday 5 September 2017

Asia
Asia
Mumbai: 21:30 – 23:00

Africa
Africa
Cape Town 18:00 -19:30

Europe
Europe
Paris: 18:00 – 19:30
London: 17:00 – 18:30

Americas
Americas
Sao Paulo: 13:00 – 14:30
New York: 12 noon – 1:30 pm
Los Angeles: 9 am – 10:30 am
Honolulu: 6 am – 7:30 am

 

Pricing

IQ Int members
IQ International members
US$90

IQ Int members
Non member price
US$175

(includes complimentary IQint membership expires 30 June 2018)

IQ Int members
Plus 1 (colleague registering with you for the Bootcamp)
US$60

 

Register now

View registration form in separate window

 

We will invoice you within 24 hours of receiving your registration.

On receipt of payment we will provide access details to the session.